Applications Due March 10 for Richard G. Law Excellence Award for Undergraduate Teaching at WSU

Pullman, Wash.—Washington State University announces that applications for the next Richard G. Law Excellence Award for Undergraduate Teaching will be accepted through Thurs., March 10, 2022.

Detailed information about the award and the online application process is available on the Law Award webpage. Following reviews by the Law Award Committee, the recipient will be announced mid- April at the annual awards event for the Division of Academic Excellence and Student Achievement (DAESA).

Presented since 2013, the Law Award recognizes outstanding teaching by faculty on all campuses who teach courses in the University Common Requirements (UCORE) general education curriculum.

Ten faculty members have so far received the Law Award, said Karen Weathermon, member of the award selection committee. UCORE is part of the DAESA, in the Office of the Provost and Executive Vice President and Pullman Chancellor.

“The Law Award recognizes exceptional educators for their efforts to provide top learning experiences for WSU students,” said Clif Stratton, UCORE director.

Recipients of the Law Award are described as educators who inspire curiosity into, and understanding of, an area of study. Through their teaching, they encourage development of the lifelong learning skills of integrating and synthesizing concepts to solve real problems.

The award is named in honor of retired WSU administrator and faculty member Richard Law, who served as the director of general education from 1990 until his retirement in 2009. The award in his name values the important role played by faculty across the university teaching UCORE courses to help undergraduates attain WSU Learning Goals, especially outside their major area of study.

Questions about the award or online nomination process should be emailed to  Application materials, including letters of recommendation, are due by the March 10 deadline date.

Media contacts:

Karen Weathermon, Committee Member for the WSU Law Award, 509-335-5488,

Clif Stratton, Committee Member for the WSU Law Award, 509-335-2230,

Beverly Makhani, Communications Manager, DAESA, 509-432-3430,

WSU Insider logo. Read the full article on the Insider website.